Oregon is one of the strictest states when it comes to impaired driving. If you’ve been convicted of driving under the influence of intoxicants, you may be wondering how long it will stay on your record. This is natural since a DUII conviction can affect several aspects of your life. If you’re familiar with DUII laws in other states, you would know that many allow such a conviction to “drop off” after a certain period of time.
You may, therefore, be disappointed to learn that your conviction will follow you for the rest of your life in Oregon. That’s because Oregon’s laws don’t allow the expungement of a DUI conviction. This means jobs will be hard to get, getting into the university of your choice may be difficult, and certain professions may be off-limits.
The state allows some crimes to be set aside or expunged from an individual’s record. However, some traffic offenses, including driving under the influence of intoxicants, are excluded. Let’s take a closer look at the state’s laws. Contact our Portland DUI attorneys today.
Oregon’s DUII Laws Explained
The best way to avoid a DUII conviction is to not get behind the wheel if you’re impaired by drugs or alcohol. It’s helpful to know what the state’s laws say about drunk driving so you can even avoid getting charged again. Multiple DUI convictions will make your life even harder.
Drivers who are 21 years of age and older are deemed to be driving under the influence of intoxicants if their blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or higher. For commercial drivers, the legal limit is 0.04 percent. If you’re under the age of 21, you’re not allowed to have any alcohol at all in your system.
Drivers are also prohibited from driving if they are impaired by cannabis, inhalants or any other controlled substance. It doesn’t matter how much of the substance is in your system if it makes your driving less safe. Your best bet is to contact a Portland DUI lawyer for representation.
Like most states, Oregon has an implied consent law. If you drive on a public road, you automatically agree to give a sample of your breath, blood or urine is requested by law enforcement. Refusing to take a test can result in your license being suspended for one to three years.
Penalties on Conviction of A DUII
If you get convicted of driving under the influence of intoxicants, your license will also be suspended. For a first conviction, you could lose your driving privileges for as short a period as 90 days or as long as one year. If it’s your second conviction in five years, you could lose your license for up to three years. If you record three or more convictions or you’re found guilty of a felony DUII, your license will be permanently revoked.
Of course, losing your driving privileges isn’t the only thing you have to worry about. You can spend up to a year in jail after being convicted of a misdemeanor DUII and you could have to pay up to $6, 250 in fines. You’ll also have to deal with court costs, electronic monitoring, and drug and alcohol testing and treatment. For each subsequent offense, the penalties get harsher.
How the Law Treats DUI Charges That Don’t End in Conviction
If you were arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence but you were not convicted, your arrest can be set aside. Your lawyer may have been successful in getting the charges dismissed or the court may have acquitted you. If so, you can request that your arrest record be set aside.
Also, some offenders are eligible for the state’s DUII diversion program. Under this program, you enter a plea of guilty or no contest during a hearing. If you fulfill all the requirements of the court in a year, your charge will be dismissed. No conviction will be recorded against you. However, your criminal record won’t be completely clean since the arrest will remain. While this isn’t ideal, you may prefer it over a conviction.
Contact the Trilogy Law Firm for a Consultation Today!
Now that you know that you can never get rid of a DUII conviction, you also know that you need to avoid such convictions. Whether it’s your first conviction or subsequent, you need to contact the Portland DUI lawyers at the Trilogy Law Firm. We’ll do everything we can to help you beat the charge and secure the best possible outcome. Call us today to schedule a consultation and learn more about what we can do for you.