When people get arrested for DUI, they face some serious challenges when it comes to their driving privileges, but also for the fines they have to pay, and the penalties that are following. No matter if this is your first, second, or subsequent DUI offense, it’s important to stay calm and hire a Portland DUI attorney as fast as possible. This way you will have someone to guide you and stand by your side in the most challenging moments. The following are some of the most frequently asked questions about DUI in Oregon.
What is Driving While Impaired (DWI)?
Driving under the influence is the formal name for the charge of driving a vehicle while drunk or drugged. To get a DUI charge you have to drive a motor vehicle on a public street, highway, or public vehicular area with a BAC of .08% or higher.
DUI is also considered when driving under the influence of drugs (legal, illegal, prescribed, or over-the-counter), or a mix of drugs and alcohol even if the BAC doesn’t show .08%.
You’ve Been Charged DWI. Do You Need a Lawyer?
Many people wonder if a DUI attorney is necessary in such a case. Keep in mind that a DUI charge is a serious offense and doesn’t come with an easy way out. An attorney is a must because, if this is your first offense, you surely will feel lost and wouldn’t know what to expect. Having a skilled lawyer by your side will spare you from many challenges.
Various Sentencing Options for a DUI in Oregon
Some of the most asked questions when it comes to sentencing in Oregon are related to driver’s license suspension, time spent in prison, as well as the amount a DUI offender has to pay.
- If you’re a first conviction, the minimum fine is $1,000. Your driver’s license will be suspended for a period is 90 days.
- If you’re a second conviction, the minimum fine is $1,500. Your driver’s license will be suspended for one year if the commission of the second offense happened within five years of the first offense.
- For a third or subsequent conviction, you will pay a fine is $2,000 if you are not sentenced to a term of imprisonment. If the third violation happened within five years of the first and second offense, your driver’s license will be suspended for three years. If you commit a fourth conviction within 10 years, your driver’s license will be permanently revoked.
- In case you were driving an underage passenger while being intoxicated, you will pay a maximum fine of $10,000.
Many people wonder if they have to install an ignition interlock device after they get charged with a DUI. In Oregon, the Department of Transportation requires that an approved ignition interlock device should be installed and used in any vehicle driven by the offender for the first year after the ending date of the driver’s license suspension or revocation. FOr second offenders, this rule will require a two-year ignition lock.
Under Oregon’s DUI laws, a commercial driver will be excluded from driving a commercial vehicle for one year if they are convicted of DUI or commercial DUI for the first time. If the driver was transporting hazardous materials while intoxicated, the disqualification period will last for at least three years. A commercial driver who performs a second DUI or commercial DUI will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle permanently.
Drivers Younger Than 18
If ordered by the court, DMV can suspend a person’s driving privileges if they are between 13-20 years old (at the time of the DUI offense). If they are convicted of using, abusing or possessing drugs or alcohol, they will also lose their driving privileges. The order for suspension of driving privileges will remain for one year if the person is seventeen years of age or younger if it was their first offense. The suspension may last for one year or until the person turns 18 years of age (whichever is longer).
Contact a Portland DUI Lawyer Today
Our team is here to stand by your side and make sure to get you the best outcome. No matter if you’re a first-time offender, a young driver, or you have committed DUI in less than five years after your first offense, allow Trilogy Law Group attorneys to review your case. We know that this is a challenging time for you, so let us take care of everything. Call our office today and schedule your first consultation.