A Boardman, Oregon woman will spend six years and three months in prison in connection with a rollover crash that killed her infant son and caused serious injuries to her three-year-old daughter.
When the sentence was read to Veronica Andrade on Friday afternoon in the Morrow County Circuit Court, three years of post-prison supervision were also imposed. Andrade’s driver’s license was suspended for five years.
The 40-year-old had already pleaded guilty to criminally negligent homicide, driving under the influence of intoxicants, and assault in the third degree.
She had been previously released on bail, so she was taken into custody following her sentencing hearing.
The crash occurred on June 2, 2019 on Interstate 84 in Morrow County near milepost 175.
Investigators said Andrade was going east on I-84 when she veered off the road onto the right shoulder, causing the 2003 Cadillac CTS she was driving to roll.
Oregon State Patrol said the baby died after being ejected from the vehicle while Andrade and the three-year-old were taken to Good Shepherd Medical Center.
The child, who was in critical condition, was later airlifted to Randall Children’s Hospital at Legacy Emanuel Medical Center in Portland.
You can be convicted of driving under the influence in Oregon if you have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or more. You can also be found guilty if your driving is impaired by drugs or alcohol regardless of your BAC.
The penalties for DUII can be harsh. First offenders can be jailed for up to one year and they face fines of at least $2,000 in addition to other costs.
If you’ve been charged with driving while under the influence of intoxicants, you need to contact a skilled and experienced Portland DUI attorney for advice and representation.