Some people think driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is no big deal. They tell themselves that they can make it to their destination safely and no one will get hurt. However, given the damage that driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) can cause, many jurisdictions come down hard on offenders. If a court convicts you of a DUII in Portland or elsewhere in Oregon, it can change your life considerably. You’ll face both administrative and criminal penalties for DUI and your social or professional standing could take a hit.
Police can charge you with a DUII if your blood alcohol concentration is .08 percent or more of if you’re impaired by drugs and/or alcohol. Driving under the influence is not treated like other offenses. You can face penalties even before you’re convicted. As long as you were arrested lawfully, your license can be suspended, and you may have to pay fines. If you do get convicted later, you’ll have to deal with criminal penalties. In this article we’ll look at the punishments you could face for your first DUII in Oregon. If you need advice regarding a specific case, be sure to reach out to an experienced Portland, Oregon DUI attorney.
Administrative Penalties for a Portland DUII
If a chemical test shows your blood alcohol content is above the legal limit, you’ll face a 90-day driver’s license suspension. If you refuse to submit to a test, you’ll violate Oregon’s implied consent law. This law states that if you once you get behind the wheel, you consent to testing. If you don’t take the test, your license will probably be suspended for a year. A conviction for a DUII also results in a one-year license suspension.
On conviction of your first DUII, you will also have to get an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. You’ll need to use this for one year after your license suspension ends. These devices are also required if you want to get a hardship permit while your license is suspended. These permits allow you to drive to and from work, substance abuse treatment, and doctor’s appointments. You will be responsible for footing the cost of installing and maintaining the ignition interlock device.
Criminal Penalties for DUI in Oregon
Many people who face DUII charges worry about if they will be sentenced to jail time. That’s primarily why they seek the services of a DUI attorney in Portland, OR. For a first-offense DUI, the judge will either hand down a jail sentence or community service. You would have to spend between two days and one year in jail. If the judge gives you community service, it will be between 80 and 250 hours.
You will also have to pay fines. For most first offenders, the minimum fine is $1,000. There is also a $255 fee. If your BAC was .15 percent or more, you will have to pay at least $2,000. The maximum fine is $6, 250 in either case. However, if you had a passenger under the age of 18 in your car, the maximum fine is $10,000. For this to be imposed, you must be at least three years older than the passenger.
That’s not the end of your penalties for DUI. Every driver convicted of a DUI in Oregon must undergo a screening interview. This will determine if you need to attend a substance abuse treatment program. If the person conducting the screening concludes that you need to complete a program, you will have to foot the bill. You will also have to pay $150 for the screening. The court can also order you to attend a victim impact session. This can cost you anything from $5 to $50.
Qualifying for a DUII Diversion Program
Some drivers qualify for the state’s DUII diversion program. You should ask your lawyer if you are eligible for this option. You will have to plead no contest or guilty to the charges against you. If you complete the program, your case will be dismissed after a year. To get into the program, you must petition the court within 30 days of being charged and request diversion. In addition, you will have to pay a $490 filing fee.
Reach Out to the Trilogy Law Group for Help
As you can see, a DUII conviction is costly. We haven’t even discussed the social fallout you may face. Each DUII case is different and the laws can be complicated. If you are facing DUII charges, contact the experienced Portland DUI attorneys at the Trilogy Law Group. We’ll do everything we can to defend you and get the best possible outcome. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.